27th August 2020 - Page 31

at English
Winter Fair
HE 2017 English Winter
Fair was held recently
at Staffordshire County
Showground. From a quality
show forward, Limousin sired
cattle once again dominated
the results board in winning
many of the major titles on
In front of a sizeable
crowd the red heifer Queen
B from Edwards Bros and
J M Rowlands, Corwen,
Denbighshire lifted the Heifer
Championship before moving
on to take the Supreme Overall
The Champion animal
was tapped out by the joint
judges for the day in the
shape of Wendy Pickard,
Gaddesby, Leicester and Dai
Thomas, Llanwen, Lampeter.
Commenting on their
Champion Mr Thomas said:
“This heifer came into the
ring showing real class, with a
level top and demonstrating a
huge degree of style she was a
worthy winner amid a strong
cohort of exhibits.”
In the traditional postshow sale she went on to sell
for £7,500 to Joseph Morris
Butchers, a Midlands-based
family business now in its
Bred by the Bowen family
Penthryn, Welshpool, the
April 2016 born heifer is no
stranger to success. In the
autumn of 2016 she took the
Baby Beef Championship at
her first outing at Borderway
Agri-Expo and then followed
that up with the Reserve Baby
Beef title at last year’s Welsh
Winter Fair. She is sired by the
prolific bull Liscon
Bigshow, the main
herd sire for the
Bowen family, who
has bred numerous
title winning cattle
over the years.
In what was a onetwo for Limousins
the Reserve Overall
Supreme Champion
came in the shape
of Dolderwen
Mercedes from
Phil and Sharon
Sellers, Linconshire.
Mercedes had come
all the way through
from winning the
Champion Purebred
Limousin title
and the Overall
in the Pedigree
Bred by G Jones
and Co, Builth
Wells, she is sired
by the Saphir son
Lodge Hamlet
and is out of the
Fieldson Alfy
daughter Dolderwen
Indulgence. Phil and
Sharon purchased
the April 2016 born
heifer from the
Brecon sale of show
potential cattle back
in February 2017 for
NOVEMBER 23 2017
It’s trophies galore for Dexter
HE annual dinner of the
Dexter Cattle Society
NI Group took place on
Saturday, November 4,
held at the Ramble Inn Antrim.
After a very enjoyable meal
the cups and trophies were
presented by the Chairman of
the Dexter Society Council, Mike
Frazer. As the National Show
for the Dexter Society was held
this year at the Balmoral Show
there were a lot of trophies to be
During the year a number of
young handler competitions
took place and cups were won
by Nathen Tumelty and Alanna
HE show season
started with the RUAS
where the winners were as
The Presidents Cup for
Champion – Matthew and
Allana Bloomer.
The Dettingen Cup
for Reserve Champion
– Montgomery and
The Bingham Family
Cup for Cow with Calf at
foot – Montgomery and
Hilton Perpetual Cup for
Senior Heifer – Montgomery
and McClenaghan.
Frazer Family Cup for
Junior Heifer – James
Carnbrooke Meats Cup
for Senior Bull – Matthew
and Allana Bloomer.
Tullyfarm Cup for Junior
Bull – Ryan Lavery.
The Ballydrummman Cup
for Pairs – Matthew and
Alma Bloomer.
The Moomin Trophy for
Young Handler – Allana
and Jane Bloomer.
The evening concluded with
a very successful raffle and
auction which raised funds for
Cancer NI. Chairman James
Eccles thanked Mike Frazer for
presenting the cups, everyone
for coming and congratulated all
the prize winners.
He also thanked the Ramble
Inn staff for an excellent
meal and service, Willeen
Montgomery for organising the
dinner, Alex Montgomery for
supervising the raffle and Susan
McCullough as photographer
ABOVE: Dexter Cattle Society NI Group gather at the Ramble Inn, Antrim, for their annual
and wished everyone a safe
dinner and trophy presentations.
journey home.
County Down Sweeps
Trophy for Champion
– Matthew and Alma
Edenvale Cup for Reserve
Champion – James
Dexter Cattle Society NI
Group Trophy for Champion
– Matthew and Alanna
Hillhead Perpetual Cup
for Dry Cow – Ryan Lavery.
McCullough Cup for Cow
with calf at foot – James
Hillhead Perpetual Cup
for Senior Cow – Ryan
McClenaghan Family Cup
for Heifer – Matthew and
Alma Bloomer.
Dexter Cattle Society
NI Group Cup for Maiden
Heifer – Nigel McIlrath.
Castlescreen Cup for
Bull – Matthew and Alanna
Amber Trophy for Heifer
under 12 months – Matthew
and Allana Bloomer.
Islandkelly Cup for Bull
under 12 months – Mike
Derryola Cup for Pairs –
Matthew and Allana Bloomer
Eccles Cup for Senior young
handler – Nathen Tumelty.
Lowerybane Perpetual Cup
for Junior young Handler –
Jane Bloomer.
RBST NI Support Group
Rose bowl for Champion –
Castlescreen Farm.
Brian Stronge Memorial
Trophy for Best Opposite
Sex to Champion – James
The Bloomer Family Cups
for Young Handlers – Jane and
Allana Bloomer.
Individual Awards
Ballyloughan Trophy for Best
Newcomer – Lachlan Henry.
Dexter Cattle Society Cup
for Showman of the Year –
James O’Rourke.
The Eccles Silver Salver for
Herd trophy for highest points
– M and A Bloomer.
The Roxan Prize for highest
points for a Home Bred Herd –
James McCullough.


Powered by

Full screen Click to read
Paperturn flip book system
Download as PDF
Shopping cart
Full screen
Exit full screen