5th MARCH 2020 - Page 69

Arena Eventing at Portmore
Gary McKay
competing in
the 1m Arena
class at
JANUARY 23 2020
Irish Show Jumping team to begin
2020 Longines FEI Nations Cup
European campaign at La Baule
HE dates and venues for the Irish Show Jumping
team’s 2020 Longines FEI Nations Cup campaign
in Europe Division 1 have been conrmed, with
Ireland’s rst points-scoring outing under new
manager Michael Blake coming at La Baule in
France on Friday, May 15.
That will be quickly followed by Ireland’s second
opportunity to collect points the following weekend at
St Gallen in Switzerland, before Ireland’s third round of
action at Rotterdam in The Netherlands from June 18 to
21. Each team has four points-scoring opportunities in
Europe Division 1, with Ireland’s last chance to gain points
coming on home soil in the Aga Khan at the Dublin Horse
Show, which this year takes place on the much earlier
dates of July 15 to 19.
While not part of the European Division 1 Nations Cup
Series, Ireland will be in Nations Cup action as early as
mid-February, with Michael Blake leading out a team at
Deeridge in Florida, USA. That will be followed by a very
busy few days at the start of March, when Ireland will eld
teams for the Wellington Nations Cup in Florida and Abu
Dhabi in the UAE on the same weekend.
Each Irish performance over the coming months will of
course come under even more scrutiny than usual, with
the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo looming large and Irish
Show Jumping team manager Michael Blake is looking
forward to what promises to be an exciting year.
“This will, of course, be a very important season for
the Irish Show Jumping team with big challenges ahead,”
Blake said. “Our rst Nations Cup in Deeridge is just four
MANAGER: Irish Show Jumping team manager Michael
Blake. (FW04-520NN)
PICTURE: courtesy of Sportsfile
weeks away and we will be hoping to get off to a good start.
This year, we will have a particularly strong squad to pick
from, with a lot of our riders in the USA for the winter and
we will also be keeping a close eye on our riders based
in Europe. We go into the season ahead as Longines FEI
Nations Cup world champions, following our fantastic
result in Barcelona last season and will, of course, be
aiming for good results in our points scoring rounds at La
Baule, St Gallen, Rotterdam and Dublin.”
League final approaches for Seskinore Harriers
75CM: Gracey Lamont on ‘Heidi’ competing in the 75cm Arena
Eventing class at Portmore. (FW04-558JG)
85CM: Left,
in the 85cm
class at
1M: Below,
Sloan on
in the 1m
class at
THERE was a frosty start to the third
Sunday of Seskinore Harriers Branch
of the Pony Club’s Winter League at
the Ecclesville Centre in Fintona on
January 19. Temperatures dipped,
but that didn’t deter an enthusiastic
bunch of riders and their mounts.
Again, John Chambers’ course didn’t
disappoint. There was a steady
challenge in each class, which will
build confidence for next week’s final
day, with prizes for all partnerships,
which competed for three out of the
four Sundays.
The organisers appreciate and wish
to thank all competitors for their
participation and all helpers on
the day. They look forward to next
week’s grand finale and hope there
will be a big turnout. Sincere thanks
to the generous sponsor, Douglas
Well done everyone. Organisers look
forward to seeing everyone for next
week’s final.
Sunday, January 19
Cross-Poles (clear): Kacie Maguire,
Blondie; Ava McElroy, Poppet;
Caroline Wallace, Elvis; Rosie Clarke,
Gracie; Lily McCrea, Ariel; Caolan
McElroy, Poppet.
Starter Stakes (clear): Kacie
Maguire, Blondie; Darcy Maguire,
Jack; Olivia McCrea- Ariel.
128 Novice (clear): Olivia McCrea,
Smokey Joe; Ellie-Mae McCrory,
Pop; Kaitlin McCrory, Bailey; Shauna
Murray, Ritz.
128 Open: 1) Rhianna Mulligan,
Devonhage Mabel; 2) Kaitlin McCrory,
Bailey; 3) Cara Garrity, Thistledown
Royal Academy; 4) Shauna Murray,
Ritz; 5) Julia Mulligan, Bronheulog
Junior Winter Series: 1) Rhianna
Mulligan, Devonage Mabel; 2) Julia
Mulligan, Bronheulog Ruby; 3) Cara
Garrity, Thistledown Royal Academy.
138 Novice (clear): Zoe Keys, Carton
Shortlist announced for 15th AIRC Lancelot Award
HE shortlist of nominees
for the Association of Irish
Riding Clubs (AIRC) 15th
annual Lancelot Awards have
been announced.
These awards recognise the
efforts of the Association’s
volunteer members, who perform
their duties with the utmost
of diligence while organising
or helping at club, regional or
national events.
There are four categories of
awards on offer, including the club
of the year, club secretary of the
year, club member of the year and
also the person of the year award.
The award recipients will be
determined by a voting process
that will allow a jury decide 50% of
the vote, while the remaining 50%
will be cast by the registered clubs
of the Association. Each club will
be issued with details on how to
vote shortly and they are asked to
list one to three in each category
in order of the club’s preference.
AIRC chairman Tony Ennis
said: “This is one of my favourite
times of the year when we get to
recognise and acknowledge our
volunteers, who play an integral
within the Association. I wish all
of our nominees the best of luck at
next month’s awards ceremony.”
The results will be announced at
a ceremony after the Association’s
Annual General Meeting on
Saturday, February 8 at the County
Arms Hotel in Birr, Co. Offaly.
Clubs must submit their votes,
via the online form, before 12
noon on Friday, January 31.
Lad; Lori Smith, Dolly.
138 Open: 1) Jenny Dunlop, Roxy;
2) Beth Thompson, Diego; 3) Beth
Thompson, Bobbi; 4) Lori Smith,
Dolly; 5) Zoe Keys, Carton Lad; 6)
Aoife Mallon, Bayview Malta.
148 Novice (clear): Kate Millar,
Nathan; Mary Kate Rice, Pepper; Amy
McLaughlin, Rua; Tiana Grace Abbot,
Echo; Sarah Boyle, Hey There Delilah;
Hannah Thompson, Bruno; Jara
Hamilton, Whiskey.
148 Open: 1) Paris Douglas, Lough
Allen Dancer; 2) Kate Millar, Nathan;
3) Jara Hamilton, Whiskey; 4) Jenny
Dunlop, Hugo; 5) Tiana Grace Abbot,
Echo; 6) Amy McLaughlin, Rua.
Winter Series Open: 1) Amy
McLaughlin, Knockgraffon Girl; 2)
Clara Daly, Greenfield Valentine.
Horse Novice (clear): Cathal
Donnelly, Porche; Eric Smith, Silver.
Horse Open: 1) Megan McCrory,
Echo Bay; 2) Clara Daly, Rudy; 3) Eric
Smith, Brown Lad.
IDHSNI pleasure
ride at Rademon
HE Irish Draught Horse Society NI
(IDHSNI) are hosting a pleasure ride at
the beautiful Rademon Estate, Crossgar,
by kind permission of Mrs Rose Boyd, on
Sunday, February 2.
Riders can start between 11am and 2pm. The
ride costs £10 for members and £15 for nonNOMINEES
members and everyone is welcome.
This year’s nominees include:
There will be rosettes for all participants.
Club of the Year: Cheval Riding
Club; Greenhills Riding Club; Entries on the day.
The AGM will then be held on Monday,
Mosstown Riding Club.
Club Secretary of the Year: February 3 at 8pm in Ballinderry Inn, Moira
Maria Carrick (Cheval Riding Road, Lisburn, BT28 2HQ. Everyone is
Club); Gemma Kelly (Border welcome. For enquiries, please contact Tom
Counties Riding Club); Ann Marie McGuigan on 07801 063164.
Quinlan (Meath Riding Club)
Club Member of the Year:
Lindsey Ilona Brady (Castle
Hill Riding Club); Brid Mulhall
(Nuenna Farm Riding Club); Marie
Smiddy (Lismore Riding Club).
Person of the Year: Fiona Fenton
(South Roscommon Riding Club);
James O’Reilly (Killcarrick Riding
Club); Christine Keymer (Carne
Riding Club).


Powered by

Full screen Click to read
Paperturn flip book viewer
Download as PDF
Shopping cart
Full screen
Exit full screen