VIS Annual Report 2019-2020 - Page 30

Awards 2018-2019
Jim Pearson Award for Inquiry in Music
Harvard Book Prize
Awarded to two students in Grade 5, in
Harvard was founded as a rather small local
college in 1636 and has since become a world-
understanding of and dedication to music by
wide known institution committed to the highest
asking questions about music, pursuing answers
standards of teaching and research. Today,
to these and using music to help others. This
its’ curricula attract students from all around
award is given in memory of Jim Pearson (1954
the world and it has thereby become a real
- 2015), a dedicated and much-loved Primary
international center for academic training and
School music teacher at VIS for over 25 years.
research. As you will know, quite a few students
Students receiving the award:
from this school have continued their studies
Rihab Benzida
at Harvard. In the tradition of the Harvard Book
Rebecca Irene Micheli
Award, the school’s faculty each year votes to
Deniz Ulgen
honour the student from the Grade 11/12 class of
this graduation year who stands out in the best
Helen Birkbeck PYP Learner Profile Award
of ways: - in academics and intellectual curiosity;
Awarded to two students in each Grade 5
- in unselfish contribution to school activities; -
class, in recognition for having demonstrated
and, perhaps most admirable of all, in character.
Student receiving the award:
Baccalaureate Learner Profile: inquirer, open-
Frida Leka
minded, knowledgeable, caring, thinker, risktaker, communicator, balanced, principled and
Jonathan Ellwood TOK Award
reflective. This award is given in memory of Helen
Jonathan Ellwood was a VIS student and an
Birkbeck (1966 - 2006), an ex-colleague and
outstanding teacher and international educator.
previous Primary School Deputy Principal at VIS.
His life was cut tragically short when he was
Students receiving the award:
killed in Bali in October 2002.
5A - Nikhil Abel John & Nicholas Kiknadze
donated by the Ellwood family in his memory. The
5B - Sami Al-Kital & Ana Psenicnik
Jonathan Ellwood Award is awarded to the Grade
5C - Jonah Cover & Esther Wanjiku Ngethe
12 student who has shown outstanding interest
5D - Udam Jeon and Sophie Zhu-Yun Pitt
in the Theory of Knowledge course, and has made
5E - Lukas Rois & Aizhan Rossana Borsoi
a notable contribution to discussion with creative
and innovative ideas.
Student receiving the award:
Charlotte Perquy
The award is


Powered by

Full screen Click to read
Paperturn flipbook system
Download as PDF
Shopping cart
Full screen
Exit full screen